After Napoleon annexed the Kingdom of Holland to France, the French laws were applied to The Netherlands on March 1st 1811. The administrative organization was also shaped on a French basis. The civil registry was implemented and everyone was obligated to acquire a family name. The old mark boundaries were removed and the town of Losser got seperated from Oldenzaal. Becoming an independent township. A few years later the marks of De Lutte, Beuningen en Berghuizen were added tot he township of Losser.
In the center of De Lutte, in the town square, between the church and the pub, stands The Hellhound proudly on it’s pedestal. The statue was made by the famous sculptor Pieter de Monchy. This Hellhound is bound to a haunting folklore. In the early years farmers in the outskirts of the village were startled by an enormous black stray dog. This dog also wandered around the cementary in De Lutte. The legend about the Hellhound continued to exist. Everyone who would come into contact with the Hellhound would become seriously ill.
The most visited sights in and around De Lutte are Het Lutterzand and Arboretum Poortbulten. The “mountains” of De Lutte, like De Tankenberg and De Paasberg are beautiful areas to explore by hiking or biking. The centre of De Lutte, with restaurants, bars and cozy terraces, is a great meeting place for hikers and bikers. ‘Klompenmakerij Koop’ is an old family business that makes wooden shoes. There is a movieroom and a museum where you can learn how wooden shoes were made in the past and present. The village center of De Lutte and the Tourist information are starting points for various hiking and biking routes. These routes are purchasable in our webshop.